Interview with Thomas Rudin

Thomas Rudin has been managing the Bethesda hospital in Basel for over 10 years and became a member of the board of Mercy Ships Switzerland in June 2020.

 

Mr. Rudin, you have decided to join Mercy Ships as a member of the Board of Mercy Ships Switzerland. What were the motives behind this decision?

Mercy Ships is a charity with an interesting history. Various health professionals provide specialized medical treatment to the disadvantaged populations of Africa. In addition, through specific training and targeted renovation and infrastructure projects, the health system in the countries visited is sustainably supported and developed, thus strengthening the general healthcare in the various countries in the long term.

I am very impressed by the great work of Mercy Ships, but also by the fact that this commitment is rooted in the power of Christian faith. The mission of providing people in developing countries with access to healthcare by means of hospital ships is, in my opinion, as necessary as it is valuable.

This is why I would like to bring my various professional experiences in the healthcare sector, particularly in different hospitals, to Mercy Ships.

 

How do you perceive the organization today?

Mercy Ships is very professional and appealing. The field of activity is very easy to understand and can therefore find good support.
The visibility of the charity in German-speaking Switzerland is still relatively low and can be improved.

I would like to get to know and understand the whole relief organization even better through its work in Switzerland and also on site.

 

You run the Bethesda Hospital in Basel. What are your biggest challenges?

The healthcare system in Switzerland is very well developed and on everyone’s lips. The various institutions are under great pressure, especially in the current period with the management of the Corona crisis.

The main challenges in Switzerland are the constant cost pressure, the shortage of qualified staff and the associated attractiveness of the health care professions and the constant competition in the market. The development of new forms of cooperation between the various service providers and digitization are also important issues that need to be addressed.

Above all, we should not forget that human beings with their needs and destitution should be at the center of our daily work.

 

Could you imagine running a hospital that only operates with volunteers from all over the world?

Yes, I would find that a very exciting challenge. It is important to raise enthusiasm for service in volunteers. This requires a shared vision and a high level of personal conviction on the part of all those involved for the common task. The different cultures and ideas on how to implement it would then be relegated to the background.

Dialogue and communication with the staff must be given high priority, as well as the involvement of individual staff members.

Finding consensus is an important factor! The limits are then, however, in medical care, where standards apply and must be adhered to.

 

 

Learn more about the mission of Mercy Ships or discover our board.

Interview de Thomas Rudin

Il dirige l’hôpital Bethesda à Bâle depuis plus de 10 ans. Depuis juin 2020, Thomas Rudin est également membre du comité de Mercy Ships Suisse et s’engage aux côtés de l’organisation humanitaire.

 

Monsieur Rudin, vous avez décidé de devenir membre du Board de Mercy Ships Suisse. Quels sont les motifs de cette décision ?

Mercy Ships est une œuvre dont l’histoire est intéressante. Divers professionnels de la santé fournissent des soins médicaux spécialisés aux populations défavorisées d’Afrique. En outre, grâce à des formations spécifiques et à des projets de rénovation et d’infrastructure ciblés, le système de santé des pays visités est soutenu et développé de manière durable, ce qui renforce à long terme le système de santé public dans les différents pays.

Je suis très impressionné par le travail important de Mercy Ships, mais aussi par le fait que cet engagement est enraciné dans la force de la foi chrétienne. La mission qui consiste à permettre aux habitants des pays en développement d’accéder aux soins de santé par le biais de navires-hôpitaux est, à mon avis, tout aussi nécessaire que précieuse.

C’est pourquoi je souhaite apporter à Mercy Ships mes diverses expériences professionnelles dans le secteur de la santé, notamment dans les différents hôpitaux.

 

Comment percevez-vous l’organisation aujourd’hui ?

Mercy Ships est très professionnel et attrayant. Le domaine d’activité est très facile à comprendre et se prête à un large soutien.
La visibilité de l’association en Suisse alémanique est encore faible et peut être renforcée.

J’aimerais connaître et comprendre encore mieux l’ensemble de cette organisation humanitaire par son travail en Suisse et aussi sur place.

 

Vous dirigez l’hôpital Bethesda à Bâle ? Quels sont vos plus grands défis ?

Le système de santé en Suisse est très bien développé et tout le monde en parle. Les différentes institutions sont soumises à une forte pression, surtout dans la période actuelle avec la gestion de la crise du Corona.

Les principaux défis en Suisse sont la pression constante des coûts, la pénurie de personnel qualifié et l’attractivité des professions de la santé qui en découle, ainsi que la concurrence constante sur le marché. Le développement de nouvelles formes de collaboration entre les différents prestataires de services et la digitalisation sont également des questions importantes qui doivent être abordées.

Surtout, nous ne devons pas oublier que l’être humain avec son besoin, son indigence, doit être au centre de notre travail quotidien.

 

Pourriez-vous imaginer de gérer un hôpital qui ne fonctionne qu’avec des bénévoles du monde entier ?

Oui, je trouverais cette question très intéressante. Avec les volontaires, il est important de créer un enthousiasme pour le service. Cela nécessite une vision partagée et un haut niveau de conviction de tous les acteurs concernés pour la tâche commune. Les différentes cultures et idées sur la manière de la mettre en œuvre seraient ainsi reléguées au second plan.

Le dialogue et la communication avec le personnel doivent être prioritaires, tout comme l’implication des différents membres du personnel.

Trouver un consensus est un facteur important ! Les limites se situent toutefois dans le domaine des soins médicaux, où des normes s’appliquent et doivent être respectées.

 

Apprenez-en davantage sur la mission de Mercy Ships ou découvrez notre comité.