Alphonse

Some of our volunteers hold positions that may be out of sight but are nonetheless essential. Alphonse, originally from Singapore, is clearly one of them. After 10 years spent in the depths of the Anastasis (1991-1997) and the Africa Mercy (2001-2006), he joined our Lausanne offices in April as technical support for our maritime department.

Alphonse, you seem to be rather devoted to Mercy Ships, as this is the 3rd time that you have joined the organisation!

During my maritime career, I was struck by the extreme poverty in certain ports where we stopped. My Christian convictions prompted me to explore the possibilities of using my skills in service of God. When I heard about Mercy Ships in 1990, it was an answer to my prayers!

So then, in 1991, you volunteered on our first hospital ship.

Yes, I joined the Anastasis as 2nd Engineer. I climbed the career ladder and, in 1995, rose to the position of Chief Engineer. During this same period, I met my wife Marinette, a Swiss physiotherapist, and we had the joy of welcoming our son Caleb, who took his first steps on board.

After a few years in Switzerland, the whole family joined the organisation in 2001, this time on the Africa Mercy, in a shipyard in Great Britain.

A donor had offered Mercy Ships a ferry, the Dronning Ingrid, to convert it into a hospital ship. I joined the team in charge of this gigantic project. This ferry was a wonderful gift, but it required almost 7 years of effort in order to transform it into the Africa Mercy!

You spent two months on board the Africa Mercy, which has just completed its annual overhaul in Las Palmas. What projects were carried out during this dry dock phase?

The hull is permanently subjected to corrosion due to salt water. So we have to check, using ultrasound, if its thickness is still up to standard. A reduction from 12 to 25%, depending on the area, would require that this part be replaced, which sometimes would require opening several square meters in the hull! None of that this year, thankfully, but we also had to completely remove the two huge 34-ton propellers with their 20-meter-long rod for a complete overhaul, and also install a new steering gear with over 7.5 kilometres of cables to pull. In short, the teams were not idle!

How is the Africa Mercy doing?

In my entire career, this is the best ship of this age I have encountered! We do see some signs of old age but, due to the quality of her initial construction and good general maintenance, we can say that she is doing well despite her 39 years. So we can imagine that she still has some great years ahead of her – probably a good fifteen – and that there will still be many lives transformed aboard!

Alphonse

Certains de nos bénévoles occupent des postes loin des regards mais néanmoins essentiels. Alphonse, originaire de Singapour, est clairement l’un d’entre eux. Après 10 années passées dans les fins fonds de l’Anastasis (1991-1997) et de l’Africa Mercy (2001-2006), il a rejoint au mois d’avril nos bureaux de Lausanne en tant que soutien technique pour notre département maritime.

 

Alphonse, tu sembles être dévoué à Mercy Ships puisque c’est la 3ème fois que tu rejoins l’organisation !
Lors de ma carrière maritime, j’ai été marqué par l’extrême pauvreté dans certains ports où nous nous arrêtions. Mes convictions chrétiennes m’ont poussé à explorer les possibilités de mettre à profit mes compétences dans un engagement pour Dieu. Lorsque j’ai entendu parler de Mercy Ships, en 1990, c’était une réponse à mes prières !

Tu t’engages alors comme bénévole en 1991 sur notre premier navire-hôpital.
Oui, j’ai rejoint l’Anastasis en tant que 2nd Engineer (ndlr : 2ème mécanicien). J’ai gravi les différents échelons et, en 1995, accédé au poste de Chief Engineer (chef mécanicien). Pendant cette même période, j’ai rencontré mon épouse Marinette, une physiothérapeute suisse, et nous avons eu la joie d’accueillir notre fils Caleb qui a fait ses premiers pas à bord.

Après quelques années passées en Suisse, toute la famille rejoint l’organisation en 2001, cette fois-ci sur l’Africa Mercy, dans un chantier naval en Grande-Bretagne.
Une donatrice avait offert à Mercy Ships un ferry, le Dronning Ingrid, pour le convertir en navirehôpital. J’ai rejoint l’équipe en charge de ce projet titanesque. Ce ferry, c’était un magnifique cadeau, mais qui a demandé près de 7 ans d’efforts pour qu’il se métamorphose en Africa Mercy!

Tu as passé deux mois à bord de l’Africa Mercy qui vient de terminer sa révision annuelle à Las Palmas. Quels projets ont été menés durant cette phase en cale sèche ?
La coque est en permanence soumise à la corrosion due à l’eau salée. Nous devons donc contrôler, à l’aide d’ultrasons, si son épaisseur est encore aux normes. Une diminution de 12 à 25%, en fonction de la zone, exigerait que l’on remplace cette partie, ce qui demanderait à effectuer des ouvertures de parfois plusieurs mètres carrés dans la coque ! Rien de ça cette année, heureusement, mais nous avons aussi dû retirer entièrement les deux énormes hélices de 34 tonnes avec leur tige de 20 mètres de long pour une révision complète, et également installer un nouvel appareil à gouverner avec plus de 7.5 kilomètres de câbles à tirer. Bref, les équipes n’ont pas chômé !

Comment se porte l’Africa Mercy  ?
De toute ma carrière, c’est le meilleur navire de cet âge que j’ai rencontré ! On voit quelques signes de vieillesse, mais en raison de la qualité de sa construction initiale et de son bon entretien général, on peut dire qu’il va bien malgré ses 39 ans. Nous pouvons donc imaginer qu’il a encore de belles années devant lui – probablement une bonne quinzaine – et qu’il y aura encore beaucoup de vies transformées à son bord !